Color Me Creative

11 August 2009 at 6:21 am Leave a comment

I am always intrigued to discover what the lives of top fashion models were like before finding fashion fame. My favorite catwalker, Sasha Pivovarova, is an artist off the runways, and truthfully it is that fact that endeared her to me in the first place. Reading about her in a TeenVogue a couple summers ago, I was fascinated by her artwork and her stark Russian beauty and ever since have counted her as one of my artistic inspirations. According to New York Magazine, she began studying art at age seven at the St. Petersburg Art Institute.

sashafom

Truthfully, the internet research I’ve done on her work as an artist has yet to produce a satisfying amount of information. I know she lives in a converted chandelier factory in Brooklyn and has been asked by Lagerfeld to do some illustrations for Chanel in the last year, among other things. Since being discovered as a model she’s walked countless shows and been on the cover of many magazines (not to mention, the header of my blog).  Being my favorite model, I keep my eyes out for her anyway, and the more I grow as an artist the more curious I become about her work! She is someone I’ll forever be Google-ing.

spivovarova_08fe8_opening

Pictured above at a gallery opening, and below drawing backstage at Matthew Williamson in 2005.

SPivovarovaherSS06gkB

(For more on Sasha, an interview from New York Magazine.)

Of course, there are loads of other areas in which fashion and art-two of my favorite things-collide, one being in the form of a long eared white rabbit with very expensive taste.

marc4

Fifi Lapin, pictured here in Marc Jacobs, is the blog child of an anonymous artist who dresses Fifi in straight-off-the-runway designs every day.  I think this is the most ingenious idea for a blog, and a surefire way to make top fashions get noticed. I love her attention to details, extensive wardrobe collection, bunny wit, and of course, the prints and other Fifi-related goods on the Etsy shop.

Lastly, while on the topic of fashion drawings, I am so thrilled about Ruben Toledo’s new book illustrations! I’m enough of a bibliophile already, I don’t need anymore reasons to buy books, and these new editions are not doing anything to tame my addiction. In fact, I would say they are doing just the opposite.

381395083813950238669885

The Scarlet Letter, Pride and Prejudice, and Wuthering Heights.  (For those of you newbie fashionistas, Ruben Toledo is a famed fashion illustrator and husband to designer Isabel Toledo.)

 

Collisions of fashion and art: a beautiful thing. The creative process is a huge part of why I love fashion; to wear clothes is to make art, albeit a unique form of it. The principles of design remain the same regardless of the medium with which said art is being created. Therefore, fashion is art and art is fashion. Combining the two will always be in fashion.

Entry filed under: a little more art than fashion, designers, Models, the reading fashionista.

Color Me On Schedule Halls Of Style 13.8.09

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Independent Fashion Bloggers/ Add to Technorati Favorites Trends Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 58,823 hits

Color Me All Over

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

