Color Me A Thrilled Tourist-Shopper

5 August 2009 at 9:46 am 1 comment

I discovered quite a few new favorite stores while in Spain! Most of them I had never heard of before (seeing as they are either Euro chains or just not in the US) which made shopping quite a treat. And a few I was already familiar with, and so are you (probably).  

My absolute new favorite shop is the Spanish chain Bershka, of which there were three on my street (Gran Via)  in Madrid alone, giving you a slight idea of how popular Bershka is with the Spaniards. I resisted until the last night of my two week trip, and treated myself to a frenzied half hour in the little Bershka on the side alley sporting questionable women hanging out in the shop windows, if you know what I mean. I came away with a small armful of fashion fabulousness!  (pictures of which will be posted when my digital is returned to me.)

bershka in segovia 

I never made it into a  (Sfera) but they looked very chic and swank. Regardless, I would recommend it to my readership based on the (Sfera) window shopping I did for two weeks!

 June is sales month in Spain, and I struck high-waisted gold at Mango! I found a lovely pair or charcoal super high waist wide-leg pants on deep sale, and in my size, too…pictures to follow.

Stradivarius: not just violins!

Of course, I’m sure a lot of you are familiar with Zara, seeing as they are pretty global. The clothing was fabulous, but instead of taking the blue suede gladiator stilettos that were crying out to me I drifted over to the perfume shelves and came away with two new lovely scents: a sugar (“SweetME”) and a strong floral (Zara Agua Perfumada en Flor de Azahar). I feel like Spain whenever I wear them.

Lastly, I feel like Topshop should receive some recognition, but seeing as we now have one in America (and my severe lack of time whilst in Madrid) I never made it into the many I saw in Madrid. On one hand, I don’t mind as much because Topshop is more Euro than uniquely Spanish, but on the other hand, I kindof cringe inside knowing there was one a stone’s throw from my hotel in the Puerta Del Sol that I never stepped foot in…

Oh snap, guess that just means I have to go back someday!

 

**Pictures to follow separately. My camera is currently being loaned to somebody…in South Korea.

Entry filed under: color around the world, shopping adventures and escapades.

Color Me A FredFlare Fan Color Me Sartorial

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. queentazo  |  6 August 2009 at 9:56 pm

    BERSHKA IS THE BEST… Stradivarius is a close second. They have more jean options at Stradivarius but they rust in the wash. 😦
    Still washing my genie jeans…
    Pictures of my purchases to follow after the first week of school!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Independent Fashion Bloggers/ Add to Technorati Favorites Trends Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 58,830 hits

Color Me All Over

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

