Color Me Crafty!

16 June 2008 at 10:59 pm 5 comments

I have a small confession to make: I have a jewelry problem. Earrings can be found in every crack, cranny, corner and container in my purple bedroom, and necklaces hang from hooks, sit in bowls and lie hidden and temporarily forgotten in scads of purses. I have boxes of bracelets. So, is it any wonder that when I spied Dries Van Noten’s fall necklaces I had a conniption?

They are every jewelry addict’s fantasy! It’s a dream! I can hardly even now contain my excitement!!!

Why? What do you mean why? Because it’s a necklace made out of (what seems to be, at least) bracelets, THAT’S WHY! Of all the statement necklaces to have come off the catwalks within the last year, Van Noten’s have been my favorite, and as an aside are the ones I see making the transition to non-model wardrobes easiest. And, how clever is it? The whole concept is so… simple… and the product is an extremely clever piece of art (or fashion, however you think).  The concept is essentially the same concept that I build most of my outfits around: simplicity+resourcefullness+a dash of ugly = something worth wearing. Of course, you see where this is going, I had to try it myself.

The problem? I have plenty of bracelets, but as far as bangle bracelets in particular are concerned… well. I’m kindof lacking. But, I suppose if I wanted a Dries-esque necklace, I could always opt for one bracelet and see what kind of reception it gets!

 

While I was in a DIY-designer-necklace mode, I finally got around to the 2006 Thakoon necklace that Susie Bubble blogged about ages ago and made herself that I have wanted to try. 

However, as I decided not to go with black silk and finally put a delishious looking scrap I’ve had since 8th grade to use, my final result is slightly kitsch but great outfit fodder nonetheless!

After the “Thakoon” necklace was finished, I got to thinking about the Dries Van Noten piece again. Both of these necklaces are extremely simple, but the innovation lies in that when creative designs are at want, who would stop to think about making something so basic? And considering the fact that the Dries Van Noten necklace consists soley of bangles on a ribbon (or chain, as the case may be), I began to brainstorm what else could be put onto a necklace.

This is where the jewelry problem comes in handy.

What do I have tons of lying around, dying to be put to good use? Earrings, sir! Think about it. French hook earrings are essentially charms waiting to be looped into something magnificent. Make it that necklace you have lying around and you have an innumerable number of combinations, therefore an innumerable amount of necklaces, at your fingertips.

Another problem I have is a penchant for wearing things in ways they were not intended to be, ie skirts as dresses and tops, scarves as vests and shirts, freaky ponchos as not-so-freaky layering tools, elementary school kerchiefs as scarves, so on and so forth. All that to say, I was more than willing to put earrings around my neck, and my,my was I excited about the result!

 

So. Dries puts bracelets around his, I hung earrings on mine and Thakoon favors silk scraps and stones. If you were to drape anything on a necklace, what would it be?

 

*** Stay tuned for part two, in which Colorcast makes necklaces with painted chess pieces and felt diamonds!

Entry filed under: accessories, designers, do it!, fashion=fun, how to, Uncategorized.

Color Me Recognized: Part 2 Color Me Off In A Mall Somewhere….

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. scarfgirl  |  17 June 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Yah!!! It’s the fabric!

    Reply
  • 2. G & P  |  30 June 2008 at 10:17 am

    You are amazing!! You make our day reading all your thoughts and ideas on fashion.

    Reply
  • 3. queentazo  |  9 July 2008 at 3:02 pm

    loves it… i love putting rings and dodads on my necklaces… i have started hooking on earrings!
    😀

    Reply
  • 4. gilda  |  15 July 2008 at 5:49 pm

    hahaha! yeah that’s kinda cool. i like the bangles and earrings on the necklace. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Rose  |  11 September 2008 at 11:02 am

    I don’t know, how it gonna look like if I put rings on my necklace. what do think about putting it on purple leather vest

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Independent Fashion Bloggers/ Add to Technorati Favorites Trends Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 58,823 hits

Color Me All Over

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

