Color Me Full Of Questions

11 May 2008 at 6:18 pm 3 comments

While there has been little apparent development over here, do not be fooled: many a post have I been working on since we chatted last! Last week I sat down to lunch with a fellow student Amber Jones, FORD model, to ask her a few questions about her experiences as a teen model and life in the modeling industry.

What kind of modeling do you do?

I do mainly commercial modeling, which is like Dillard’s, catalogs… I have done some Teen Vogue, some runway. It was a small runway show, though.

Really! Who are some of the people you have gotten to work with?

Well, I met Paris Hilton – the runway show was for her; She put it together to see if she wanted to promote this clothing line [of hers], but I don’t think she ever did. It was a really small show! It was just me, the other girls and maybe ten or twenty people sitting in the front row watching, and Paris was one of them.

What is it like to walk a runway? Is it easy to get distracted?

Not really. When you’re on the runway, you can’t really see out into the crowd because of the lights… maybe the first row, but I don’t think it is that hard to be distracted because you can hardly see anything!

I’ve always wondered, is it hard to come up with your looks and poses?

Looks are pretty easy to do, but sometimes [in commercial] they want you to be really cheesy, and sometimes the things they want you to do are just really weird. Walks? The way they want you to do them is kindof hard. I finally got it, maybe two years ago, but even now I don’t think I could do it anymore!

Do you find it hard to “keep it real” in the industry, or when you’re out and about working?

Sometimes. There is a lot of pressure. Like: if you gain three pounds, it’s a HUGE deal. It’s hard being a girl, especially a teenage girl! You get into comparing [yourself].  There is such a huge emphasis on being thin. A lot of girls start [modeling] really young, at thirteen and fourteen, when they haven’t really developed yet so they don’t have a chest, or hips. You know, when they are so tiny? Then they grow up and develop yet are expected to remain that thin. I think it’s so sad when girls are told “You have to lose weight!” or something like that, but sadly it is something I don’t see changing anytime soon.

When you do commercial modeling, especially when working with catalogs I’m sure, you get to be around so many fresh ideas and creative minds. Do you have any idea what it is that makes certain trends take off and others a complete flop?

I don’t know! It’s hard to say. A lot of times [what it will be is ] you have a really good stylist [arranging and shooting the clothes designers put forth in print media], so I think that helps. Otherwise there are a lot of outfits in Teen Vogue and such that are cute but I don’t think people could wear. Like I wouldn’t know how to pull some of it off!

So do you see a lot of discrepancy between the runways and designers to regular, off-the-peg wearing people?

Well, some of the stuff I don’t really see translating into real life. A lot of designer stuff is really crazy… There is some, like Betsey Johnson, who use crazy colors but their clothes are crazy CUTE, you know? But then there are other things that I just do not see any “normal” people wearing. [Colorcast’s mind goes to a few Alexander McQueen ensembles and Yoji Yammomoto of old… beautifully constructed, but the question of sitting down remains a huge one]

Do you have any favorite current trends?

Um… not really… I don’t usually get into trends that much. Well, actually, I do really like the look of boots and [colored] tights and shorts with heels: I think that is so cute!. And I love high waisted jeans, but those are so hard to wear right; I don’t think I could pull them off!

What about favorite designers?

I really like Caroline Herrera, Betsey Johnson, Kenneth Cole, Chanel… very classic, very pretty!

Have there been any shoots or shows where you got to wear any really interesting pieces? Like, really absurd crazy pieces? Or, what have been your favorite clothes you’ve worked with?

I did this one spread for Alive magazine about two years ago, and the clothes I got to wear for that spread were my favorite! Chanel, Prada, they were all very beautiful! I also modeled a wedding dress once that was beautiful but it was too long, so when I wore it on the runway it kept billowing under my feet and I kept sliding and wobbling… that was so bad!

AHH! I was about to ask if you have ever had any runway disasters!

*Laughs* Yeah… I almost fell in that dress; it was too big, so there was extra at the bottom that kept getting caught up under my heels. You could hear everyone in the front row gasp!

Are there any designers, models that you take inspiration from or admire?

Not really. I don’t really set any designers or models as role models, but I do really like this one Victoria’s Secret model, Caroline, because she is not stick thin like say… Giselle… but she’s curvier and I think that’s really beautiful!

So, how did you get started in modeling in the first place?

I began when I was fourteen. I was in the mall and someone came up to me, and it turns out that they were a fake agency so it was a good thing that I didn’t sign with them right then. But, that did kindof spark an interest in modeling; it wasn’t something I’d really thought about. My mom started to send in pictures to various agencies, and I was signed with a few and now I’m signed with FORD.

My last question is, if there were any girls who were interested in modeling…

…What would I say to them? Advice? [Snipe! How did she know that was coming…] For someone who wants to get into modeling, I’d say if you want to do it, go for it! If you think you’d be good at it, if you think you have what it takes or think you have the look, send your pictures to different agencies. And if you don’t get it, don’t quit trying. If you don’t get a job it’s not because you are fat or ugly! It all depends on what they are looking for. A client might be looking for a girl with brown hair one day and a redhead the next. So if you don’t get the job, don’t let yourself think it was because of how you look, it all depends on what they are looking for. I mean, you are still a beautiful girl! Just try again, you may be exactly what someone else is looking for. And for girls who are already into modeling… just send out your pictures! Seriously, go for it. I mean, the worst they can say is no!

Entry filed under: always questions, do it!, fashion philosophy, fashion=fun, hall style, Models, musings, now you know, school, shows, who said it.

Color Me Quoted Color Me Dotty!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. David  |  11 May 2008 at 8:04 pm

    nice interview!

    Reply
  • 2. Luke  |  17 May 2008 at 8:26 pm

    this is pretty interesting!

    Reply
  • 3. queentazo  |  18 May 2008 at 4:00 pm

    oo did u see her new spread? its as you come into school b4 you open the common doors on the left.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Independent Fashion Bloggers/ Add to Technorati Favorites Trends Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 58,850 hits

Color Me All Over

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

