Color Me Dotty!

11 May 2008 at 8:57 pm 4 comments

Last summer I found this post on Style Bubble and was inspired to try it myself! I spent an afternoon walking around my secret store (Rose’s… no one seems to have heard of it) finding the most plain, least embellished shoes I could. Then I headed to WallMart for Ribbon and dug around in my Grandma’s craft drawer for velcro dot stickers, and voila! Two pairs of shoes are easily transformed to five or eight pairs in the time it takes to watch one episode of Mythbusters. (Yes, Mythbusters! You never do your crafting to the Discovery channel? No one else is cool like that??)

I took red pointy-toed patent kitten heels and a pair of metallic round-toe pumps, and here’s what came of them…

 

(These are two different pairs of bows, mind you… I may leave the house in some risky things but not this!)

Madeline, much?

(Again, two separate pairs… zebra with or without chunky black stone)

Pleasantly, a friend of mine wanted to add to my collection of bows and gave me a sheet of 3d Martha Stewart strawberry stickers.

At first, I couldn’t decide how I was going to make them work. There were three pairs on the sheet, and making three sets of bows just looked kindof…odd. Odd or minimalist, or like I needed to spend more time on it:

Feedback? Do you percieve: A) oddity  B) minimalist chic C) Wow. Work on this.      Tell me!

What it turned out to be was a combination of the six stickers to be one fruity set of bows:

Kind of retro, no? I am sure going to have fun working these into outfits to come!

Try it yourself, it’s easy:

1. Hunt for the simplest pair of shoes you can find; if there are bows already on the toes, cut them off carefully and recycle them into a set of stick-ons (ooh. Stick-ons. Not a very fashion-friendly term!). I actually had to do that with the metallic flats, and you can probably figure out which bows they came with. (I had to remount them on grey ribbon to make them easier to stick to my new favorite thing, velcro dot stickers!)

2. Once the tops are nice and plain, stick velcro dots on each one…

… and then get crafty with ribbon, scrap fabric, yoyos (the fabric kind, people…although I applaud you if you were to actually put on real yo-yos) , buttons, strawberry stickers… whatever is at your fingertips… and stick the other half of the velcro dot pair on the back of each new bow creation.

3. Switch to match your mood or outfit, and Ta-Daa! The next time you need a pair of shoes, you could always opt for making new bows for each pair of “velcro-dot shoes” you have.

It’s all in a day’s work! Or… an episode of Mythbusters, that is.

Entry filed under: accessories, do it!, fashion=fun, shoes.

Color Me Full Of Questions Color Me Seen Around…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. queentazo  |  12 May 2008 at 7:46 pm

    That is so cool! I like the idea becuase I never want to buy like OUTRAGEOUS shoes (like colors that would only match one outfit, or odd prints) cuz i want to wear them a lot. So now i can spruce up my black shoes! (Or other basic color)

    Reply
  • 2. scarfgirl  |  12 May 2008 at 9:53 pm

    Yeah!!! I just got another idea that I have to tell you about at school!

    Reply
  • 3. Luke  |  17 May 2008 at 8:23 pm

    hey i think this is an oddity, but not in a bad way
    and i agree w david.

    Reply
  • 4. queentazo  |  18 May 2008 at 4:02 pm

    its funny how amazing it is to guys that girls are REALLY good multi-taskers…
    wow it must suck to be a guy…
    you can’t talk on the fone while doing hmwk
    you can’t listen to music while taking notes in class
    you can’t drive and change the radio station…
    hahahaha jk… for the most part… not really

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Independent Fashion Bloggers/ Add to Technorati Favorites Trends Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 58,823 hits

Color Me All Over

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

