Color Me A Flat Velcro Doll

30 December 2007 at 10:26 pm Leave a comment

Lately, I have been rediscovering the joy of childhood playthings. A while back, I uncovered one of my favorite toys, which is a small, flat doll with a Velcro leotard that adheres to a bounty of little flat-doll outfits. I brought it babysitting once — I’m one of those babysitters who’s really obsessive-compulsive about not coming empty handed — and my little client fell so in love with it that she asks me to bring it with me every time. The fun part is that as she changes the outfit and picks out the hair accessory to “go” with it,  she’ll ask me questions about the pieces, the occasion they are for, and the doll’s motive for wearing them. And being a three year old, she never lets me off easy: she demands a detailed, creative answer. every. single. time.

k11.jpg
Little Client: “What is this outfit?”
 Me: “It’s her sailing outfit.”
Little Client: “Why is she wearing her sailing outfit?”
Me: “Because she’s going sailing.”
Little Client: “Why is she going sailing?”
Me: “Because they’re having a party on the boat today…but maybe you should double-check and ask her yourself…”  (that’s my answer when I am not awake or feeling creative: ‘why don’t you ask her’)
k2.jpg
Little Client: “It doesn’t fit me!”

k3.jpg
Little Client: “What’s this one for?”
Me: “That’s her wedding dress! She wears it for getting married.”
Little Client: “Why is she getting married???”
k4.jpg
 If only I had a picture of her putting the ski mask on with the wedding dress….
k5.jpg

k6.jpg

 Little Client: “Why is she wearing a tutu?”

Me: “Because she’s going to dance class. You go to dance class, don’t you?”

Little Client: “Yes. But why is she going to dance class?”

Me: “Because she’s wearing a tutu…”

 

Ah, dress up. Let’s expose them to fashion good and early…

Entry filed under: fashion=fun.

Color Me Baggy Color Me Pierced!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Independent Fashion Bloggers/ Add to Technorati Favorites Trends Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 58,850 hits

Color Me All Over

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

