Color Me Large And In Charge

11 November 2007 at 9:54 pm Leave a comment

I’m beginning to see a trend here:

big-covet.jpgbig-daisy.jpgbig-juicy.jpgblog.jpg

I know that the pictures are small, but if you didn’t notice the trend, it’s over-sized perfume bottles in advertising.

The first label to utilize the shock factor in a massive bottle of perfume was Juicy Couture when they came out with their scent last year. I was personally more excited by Marc Jacobs use of it with the launch of Daisy this summer because I’m definitely a Marc girl and think the photography is better. But when I stumbled across a Covet ad in the September US Vogue ten minutes ago, I thought, THAT has been done before. I like the whole big-perfume bottle thing, but I think that the next person to do it will wear it out completely. So if you are thinking about releasing your very own eau de parfum, please, please don’t have a large-and-in-charge bottle in your ads, unless you can get Juergen Teller or Bruce Weber to photograph them. Or, for some magnificent reason, you are Juergen Teller and Bruce Weber and happen to be reading my mere blog. (In which case, will one of you be the photographer at my wedding? Whenever that is?)

Entry filed under: fashion oddites, musings.

Color Me Furry…Continued Color Me Petit

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Independent Fashion Bloggers/ Add to Technorati Favorites Trends Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 58,850 hits

Color Me All Over

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

