Color Me Basic: Your Questions Answered, Part 1

2 November 2007 at 9:03 pm Leave a comment

People at school always ask me how I come up with my outfits and where my style comes from, but until recently I haven’t been able to put my finger on what defines it. How it…happens. As I was trying to come up with an answer to how I “do it” (as in, “you always have the best outfits, how do you do it?”) I realized something:

I don’t stick with The Industry’s definition of “basic”. Disregard The Industry’s definition and redefine it! I substitute a lot of “the basics” for things I deem more essential and conducive to my style, and simply to being a teenage student.

“The basics” include khaki pants, pencil skirts (understood to be a “basic” color, like black), neutrals, black dress “slacks” (*shudder*), the classic white dress shirt, and probably a Birkin. However, since I am a teenage student, there’s something in the idea of wearing khaki pants on a regular basic that induces that sinking, I’ll-never-feel-happy-again feeling Harry feels when dementors come around. Pencil skirts are hard to walk in, and neutrals are more boring than Flatland. The white dress shirt is the only thing on this list that I keep on my list of ‘basics’. I will probably never own a Birkin. I will probably never have $7500 to spend on one.

My solution? I’ve swapped leggings for the fancy pants, color for neutrals, tulip skirts and jersey dresses for the pencil skirt, and a variety of charity-shop bags for the Birkin.

Disregarded Basic No. 1:

ban-rep-kki-1.jpgtopshp-kki-1.jpgold-navy-kki-1.jpgBanana Republic/Topshop/Old Navy

copy-of-basic-legs-blue-1.jpgbasic-legs-brown-2.jpgbasic-legs-red-3.jpgTurquoise, Tantrum/Brown, JC Penny/Red, Tantrum/Grey, Urban Behavior/Purple, Urban Behavior/Black…?

basic-legs-grey-4.jpgbasic-legs-purple-5.jpgbasic-legs-black-6.jpgGreen shorts, lost and found at the camp I work at/White shorts, Target

Disregarded Basic No. 2:

ban-rep-pen-skt-1.jpgtul-skirt-1.jpgBanana Republic (double whammy! It’s also a neutral)//Plato’s Closet and my Grandparent’s retirement home

Disregarded Basic No. 3:

ban-rep-neu-1.jpgvs-neus.jpg(most of my clothes are in the wash right now, but you get the idea. No neutrals.)

Disregarded Basic No. 4:

birkin1.jpgblog-028.jpgThe most famous bag of them all//both from the retirement home!

I’m not saying that everyone should go home and trash their khakis or anything like that. These are just my “basics”. I think “basics” should vary from person to person, because if we all defined the b-word the same way, none of us would have our own styles. Now what I want to know is, what are everyone else’s “basics”?

Entry filed under: do it!, fashion philosophy, fashion=fun, musings, now you know, questions, school, thrift finds.

Color Me An Indie Hit Color Me A Prospective Student

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Independent Fashion Bloggers/ Add to Technorati Favorites Trends Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 58,823 hits

Color Me All Over

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

