Color Me A Prospective Student

2 November 2007 at 9:58 pm 2 comments

To answer the questions of my teachers, I am planning to go to an art/design university! Now the question lies: is it God’s plan as well (I really hope so!), and which ones?

My first choice/ultimate fantasy is Central St. Martin’s in London. But, seeing as I will probably not make it overseas for college, I take comfort in the fact that they have Master’s and Doctorate programs in addition to regular Bachelor’s degrees. (I’ll get there someday!) It is probably the most prestigious design school I know of.

                                      collegeprofile_csm.jpg

Pros: It’s in London, world-famous and produced John Galliano and McQueen. (As in Alexander, the guy with all the tartan, not the little red racecar)

Cons: It is on the other side of the world.

And that brings us to my next choice, SCAD. At this point, I have my heart set on SCAD! It’s in Savannah, Georgia, which is fantastic because I have a fondness in my heart for the Peach State and have always aspired to go to Uni there. As far as what exactly I will study, I am still trying to decide between Historical Preservation and Jewelry Design/Metals majors and Museum Studies/Exhibition Design minors. Or I could major in Fashion, Furniture Design or Illustration, and minor with Accessory Design or British-American Studies, which sounds so fascinating to me! It makes perfect sense, too, because half of the fashion world comes to us from England, particularly London. (Think Topshop, amazing street style, Agnes and…Kate Moss. Ok, I said it!) And I would run the Iron Man if it meant a ticket to the United Kingdom. We’ll see how it turns out… there are so many decisions to make!

                                       scad1.jpg

Pros: In Georgia and pretty much amazing!

Cons: Right now, I don’t think there are any…except for tuition…

Third Choice: Parson’s! (Of course) I don’t really want to go to New York for school, but going to Parson’s would put my foot in most doors in The Industry, and the chance to showcase in New York Fashion Week. It’s an almost unattainable goal, and I don’t really want to go there that bad, so it falls on the bottom of the list.

                                      parsons.jpg

Pros: In New York, students have the opportunity to be in New York Fashion Week, it produced Proenza Schouler and Marc Jacobs to name a few

Cons: It’s in New York, and terribly expensive

There is also FIT (Fashion Institute of Technology), a design school in Chicago from what I understand, and fashion majors/programs at various “regular” universities around the nation, but those I haven’t looked into yet.

Famous and expensive or not, I just hope to get into one.

(Actually, that one would be SCAD… I have my heart and eyes set on that one. Let’s see how it all plays out. After all, I still have to finish high school! ^ _ ^ )

Entry filed under: school.

Color Me Basic: Your Questions Answered, Part 1 Color Me Furry…Continued

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie Johnston  |  10 November 2007 at 11:35 am

    Hi!
    It’s your cousin, Katie! My mom sent me your blog link and I have so enjoyed reading about your passion for fashion and design (I’m watching Tim Gunn’s Guide to Style myself right now 😉

    I live in Charleston, SC now which, as you probably know, is very close to Savannah and SCAD. If you decide to make a visit–let me know!

    On another note, I studied art and design in college and I am very glad that I did. I *love* my job as a software interaction designer. I can’t imagine doing anything else. I wish you all the best as you look towards your future design career!

    Talk soon!
    Katie

    Reply
  • 2. Anonymous  |  26 November 2007 at 4:06 pm

    FIT is a great school in New York. It has it’s own campus and is a proper regular institute. It’s also not very expensive and is as good as Parsons.

    http://www.fitnyc.edu/aspx/Content.aspx?menu=Future:AboutFit

    😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Independent Fashion Bloggers/ Add to Technorati Favorites Trends Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 58,797 hits

Color Me All Over

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

